تغييرات الاتصال الأيضي والوظيفي في متلازمة مال ديباركويمنت

مقال البحث الأصلي: منشور في بلوس واحدنوفمبر 29، 2012

ملخص

خلفيّة: الأفراد ذوي متلازمة mal de debarquement (MdDS) يعانون من وهم مزمن بالحركة الذاتية ناتج عن التعرض المطول للحركة السلبية ، مثل السفر عبر البحر أو الجو. التجربة هي واحدة من دوخة متأرجحة مشابهة لما كان الفرد في الأصل في حالة تحريك مثل قارب أو طائرة. يمثل MdDS نسخة مطولة من ظاهرة طبيعية مألوفة لمعظم الأفراد ولكنها تستمر لأشهر أو سنوات في الآخرين. إنه يمثل مثالًا طبيعيًا على المرونة العصبية لتكيف الحركة. ومع ذلك ، فإن توطين مكان حدوث هذا التكيف مع الحركة غير معروف. كان هدفنا هو توطين تغييرات الاتصال الأيضية والوظيفية المرتبطة بـ MdDS المستمرة.

طرق: تمت مقارنة عشرين شخصًا مع MdDS لمدة متوسطة تبلغ 17.5 شهرًا بعشرين عنصر تحكم عادي مع 18F FDG PET وحالة الرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي. تم حساب التمثيل الغذائي في حالة الراحة والاتصال الوظيفي باستخدام العمر وحجم المادة الرمادية ودرجات الحالة المزاجية والقلق كمتغيرات مشتركة مزعجة.

النتائج: أظهرت موضوعات MdDS زيادة التمثيل الغذائي في القشرة المخية الأنفية اليسرى واللوزة (ض> 3.3). تضمنت مناطق نقص التمثيل الغذائي النسبي التلفيف الإنسي العلوي الأيسر والتلفيف الجبهي الأيسر الأوسط واللوزة اليمنى والجزيرة اليمنى والعناقيد في التلافيف الصدغي العلوي والوسطى والسفلي الأيسر. أظهرت موضوعات MdDS زيادة في الاتصال بين القشرة المخية الداخلية / مجموعة اللوزة ومناطق المعالجة البصرية والدهليزي الخلفية بما في ذلك التلفيف الصدغي الأوسط والمنطقة الحساسة للحركة MT / V5 والفصيص الجداري المتفوق والقشرة البصرية الأولية ، مع إظهار انخفاض الاتصال بمناطق أمام الجبهية المتعددة.

في الختام: تُظهر هذه البيانات ارتباطًا بين النشاط الأيضي لحالة الراحة والاتصال الوظيفي بين القشرة المخية الأنفية واللوزة في اضطراب الإنسان لإدراك الحركة غير الطبيعي. نقترح نموذجًا لكيفية سماح هذه الركائز البيولوجية بفترة محدودة من التعرض للحركة لتؤدي إلى تصورات مزمنة للحركة الذاتية.

ابحث عن رحلتك: إدراك غير طبيعي للحركة ، اللوزة المخية ، قلة الاتصال ، القشرة المخية الأنفية الداخلية ، التوصيل الوظيفي ، نقص التمثيل الغذائي ، العصبية ، اللدونة العصبية ، دوخة متأرجحة

https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0049560

Metabolic and Functional Connectivity Changes in Mal de Debarquement Syndrome

ORIGINAL RESEARCH ARTICLE: Published in PLOS One, November 29, 2012

Abstract

Background: Individuals with mal de debarquement syndrome (MdDS) experience a chronic illusion of self-motion triggered by prolonged exposure to passive motion, such as from sea or air travel. The experience is one of rocking dizziness similar to when the individual was originally on the motion trigger such as a boat or airplane. MdDS represents a prolonged version of a normal phenomenon familiar to most individuals but which persists for months or years in others. It represents a natural example of the neuroplasticity of motion adaptation. However, the localization of where that motion adaptation occurs is unknown. Our goal was to localize metabolic and functional connectivity changes associated with persistent MdDS.

Methods: Twenty subjects with MdDS lasting a median duration of 17.5 months were compared to 20 normal controls with 18F FDG PET and resting state fMRI. Resting state metabolism and functional connectivity were calculated using age, grey matter volume, and mood and anxiety scores as nuisance covariates.

Results: MdDS subjects showed increased metabolism in the left entorhinal cortex and amygdala (z>3.3). Areas of relative hypometabolism included the left superior medial gyrus, left middle frontal gyrus, right amygdala, right insula, and clusters in the left superior, middle, and inferior temporal gyri. MdDS subjects showed increased connectivity between the entorhinal cortex/amygdala cluster and posterior visual and vestibular processing areas including middle temporal gyrus, motion sensitive area MT/V5, superior parietal lobule, and primary visual cortex, while showing decreased connectivity to multiple prefrontal areas.

Conclusion: These data show an association between resting state metabolic activity and functional connectivity between the entorhinal cortex and amygdala in a human disorder of abnormal motion perception. We propose a model for how these biological substrates can allow a limited period of motion exposure to lead to chronic perceptions of self-motion.

Keywords: abnormal motion perception, amygdala, decreased connectivity, entorhinal cortex, functional connectivity, hypometabolism, neurological, neuroplasticity, rocking dizziness

Metabolic and Functional Connectivity Changes in Mal de Debarquement Syndrome was last modified: November 15th, 2018 by MdDS Foundation